+8

Overwrite read-only files when saving

Matthew Johnson 7 years ago • updated by Mark Fowler 7 years ago 1
Some IDEs, such as Visual Studio, provide the user with an option to "Overwrite" a read-only file when saving, by changing the file's read-only status and then saving the changes. Having an "Overwrite" button in the read-only warning message would be helpful, since I usually just go and find the read-only file and change the state anyways.
TextMate does this.  It puts up a dialog that says "The file $FILENAME is read-only. Attempt to overwrite?" and gives you the options "Overwrite" and "Don't overwrite".  +1