+20
DECLINED
Alysson Bortoli 3 years ago • updated by Jon Skinner 6 months ago 10
Would be nice to move the deleted file to the Trash (Mac) and prompt before delete, some thing like "Are you sure?"

Answer

ANSWER
DECLINED
As of 2165, deleted files are moved to the trash, rather than deleted, so taking a cue from Finder, a confirmation prompt is unwarranted.
+3

Agreed on this one, file gets completely removed without a prompt AFAIK. Kind of dangerous if not using a version control system.

Add a option inside Global Settings for prompt "warning box" on delete files/folders.
Like: "prompt_on_delete": true


I found this for "move to Trash" question..Send2Trash

Even worse, sublime will happily delete an entire folder tree without prompting.
ANSWER
DECLINED
As of 2165, deleted files are moved to the trash, rather than deleted, so taking a cue from Finder, a confirmation prompt is unwarranted.
I'm using 2165 and I just lost my entire project folder from accidentally hitting delete folder instead of remove. Using Windows 7 and can't track down the files in the trash anywhere.

Really really sucks.
Yes please do this! Also add an option to remove the file from the project, and not from the filesystem.
+1
Running 2183 myself and got bitten by the "Delete folder" mis-click. The folder does "not" go to Trash (Mac), and it was completely gone. Had to fetch the files back from the versioning repository, but nonetheless I had lost an hour or two of work. Real bummer.
Hi I couldn't agree more that a 'Confirm Delete File' prompt is absolutely imperative.  I'm working on a remote server with sshfs, editing 'live' files.  If I accidentally hit delete (because the UI is not as responsive since all files are fetched from the server in the background) I have NO way to recover them.
I will gladly buy coffee to get this fixed.  Cost me about 4 hours of work.  Need to confirm deletion of an entire folder.
Found it back in the trash on Ubuntu 12.04! Thanks, didn't think it would end up there... (build 3059)